Adventures

First moments

I would like to welcome you on my blog. This is the first post about my numberous experiences, which start in Asia. The purpous of this blog is to share the food culture, history, habits and beautifuls places of all the cities/countries I will visit.

After being in a ‘Thai Airways’ aircraft for more than 11 hours (where the staff treats you as a king), I finally arrived in the beautiful country, Thailand.

I want to discover new beauties for about 1 month in this Asian kingdom. This trip will start in Chiang Mai, a metropole in the north of the country. I have already had the chance to visit this city last year. That’s also the reason why I decided to start In Chiang Mai, so I could have the opportunity to meet the people who welcomed me with so much love during my last stay.

Naamloos

In Thailand there are myriad of temples, which reflects the richness of the culture. So I started this journey with visiting a few temples such as ‘Wat Inthakin Sadue Muang’. It is one of my favourite temples, because it’s a modest temple with a lot of character. The inspiring atmosphere helps you to commune with yourself, which I really needed after this heavy school year

The ‘Wat Inthakin Sadue Muang’ is situated next to the ‘Three Kings Monument, in the middle of the old city: – Mueang Chiang Mai District, Chiang Mai

P1000090
‘Wat Inthakin Sadue Muang’
P1000087
‘Three Kings Monument’

Last year my best friend and I accompanied kids of a kindergarden to a museum next to this temple and we also visited this shrine (Holy place) with the kids. Being there again brought up a lot of memories.

11127235_648884541880052_2101282125134005543_n
‘Wat Inthakin Sadue Muang’

‘Wat Chedi Luang’ (big stupa) is a temple which I like because of it’s imposant construction and many beautiful details. It was orginally made of 3 temples, so it looks like the temple has 3 different kind of grounds. I found it quiet impressive that in the 14th century they already had the capacity to build such high temples/constructions.

The elephants which are incorporated in the construction (walls) are reflecting a certain power and strength of this temple and the culture, which passionates me a lot.

P1000142P1000144

Address:

103 Road King Prajadhipok Phra Singh, Muang District, Chiang Mai, 50200, Thailand

 

Sunday Market’

One of the first things I visited is the ‘Sunday market’ (Walking Street) next to ‘Tha Pai Gate’ in the old city center. It’s a very nice market where you can find real authentic (handcraft) Thai goods and asian cultural stuff.

This is a place loved by a lot of people, tourists as well as locals. This mix gives you the possibility to talk to and meet local people. It’s a very crowed place but if you want to escape from this fuss, you will have to visit it around 4pm (the time when the market opens).

In regular shops (in a shopping center for instance) you can only recieve discounts, on the goods the shop wants to promote. At the ‘Sunday Market’ you can bargain the price of the goods you want. It is also nice to have a personal contact with the people who made the goods theirselves. When I am travelling, I personally prefer to support local market holders instead of the big stores or brands.

P1000051

After using my energy walking I got hungry, so I ate a ‘Northern Thai sausage, Sai Oua’ which is a very delicious snack. If you want to say that you like the food in Thai, you say: ‘Aroy Maah’.

Food, clothes, accessories, massages, music, souvenirs etc. You find it all at this market. Don’t hesitate to visit this market when you are in Chiang Mai. I hope you will have as much fun as I did. It’s an incredible experience.

IMG_8774

Address:

– Rachadamnoen Rd, Mueang Chiang Mai District, Chiang Mai 50200

“Oh yeah before I forget: be careful for pickpockets (like everywhere in the world) while visiting this place!”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

